The Gill Addition
Traveling east from the Town Square, commercial uses extend along the Broadway through the St. John’s Hospital Campus, and ultimately to the end of Jackson’s incorporated limits. However, at one lot’s depth north from the Broadway frontage, one of Jackson’s residential hidden gems exists in the L.G. Gill Addition to the Town of Jackson, or “The Gill Addition.” The Gill Addition was platted in 1950 and its natural borders with the National Elk Refuge made its perimeter lots extremely desirable to the local population from its inception. The interior lots of this development were initially targeted by more price-conscious real estate shoppers, with a modest home often occupying two platted lots. However, the combination of quiet residential living within walking distance to schools and the town of Jackson has elevated the Gill Addition to one of the most sought after addresses in town. As a result, vacant lots in this location command premium price (if you can find one) and, with increasing regularity, the older homes in this development are being razed to make way for new residences.